Cucumber raita

I have friends with too many cucumbers, friends with too much mint, and friends who are discovering the fun of coconut yogurt. So here’s all of them together. With potato.

Coconut yogurt

I have no shame in stealing this awesome recipe from Bonsai Aphrodite. It’s taken me a while to get the culture and the texture just right, but we’ve done it now and I have a fridge full of delicious coconut yogurt.

For my raita I used a salsa jar full of it, I’d guess it was about 300mL. I also used half a telegraph cucumber, 3 potatoes and a huge bundle of mint from the wild plant downstairs. It was a gift for my wild 30th birthday. Very appropriate. Ange, whose idea it was, now also has too much mint. Haha, Ange, Haha. She blogs here.

So, here’s what to do:

Peel, chop and boil your potatoes until tender but still a little firm. I screwed up and overcooked them, so had to start again. Then I screwed those up too. Awesome day here!

Cool the potatoes in the fridge for a while (30 minutes to 3 hours, whatever suits) then add finely chopped mint, finely chopped deseeded cucumber, and 1tsp roasted ground cumin.

After this I like to chill it further in the fridge, but you don’t have to.

Serve with whatever spicy curry you have going – at our house tonight it’s sweet potato dhal, and rice, and microwave pappadoms (vegans don’t cheat? No, they just eat their words)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment